Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya claim seventh Iraqi Premier League title

Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya have officially secured the 2020/21 Iraqi Premier League crown in what is the club’s seventh league title and their first since the 2016/17 season.

The Falcons have been dominant throughout most of the campaign, defeating rivals Al-Zawraa and Al-Shorta and clinching the title with today’s 4-1 win over Al-Naft. League top scorer Aymen Hussein has been a crucial part of the team’s success, having recorded 21 goals to his name so far, including two in today’s victory.

As league champions, Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya have qualified for the group stage of the 2022 AFC Champions League, while their coach Ayoub Odisho has become the most decorated manager in Iraqi Premier League history with an impressive four titles to his name. Iraq’s oldest club will have a chance at becoming the first team to win the double since 2002 when they face Al-Zawraa in the Iraq FA Cup Final at Al-Shaab Stadium on 16 July.

Meanwhile, the battle for second place in the league continues with just one point separating Al-Zawraa from Al-Shorta and Al-Najaf, and the relegation fight is also hotting up with Al-Talaba and Al-Diwaniya dangerously close to the drop zone.

Don’t forget to follow Soccer Iraq on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to keep up to date with Iraqi domestic football. You can find all results from this season’s competitions on our League Table┬ápage!