Name: Al-Zawraa
Nickname: Al-Nawaris (meaning The Gulls in English)
City: Baghdad
Year of foundation: 1969
Manager: Thair Ahmed (Iraq)

Number of Iraqi Premier League titles: 13 (1975/76, 1976/77, 1978/79, 1990/91, 1993/94, 1994/95, 1995/96, 1998/99, 1999/00, 2000/01, 2005/06, 2010/11, 2015/16)
Number of Iraqi FA Cup titles: 14 (1975/76, 1978/79, 1980/81, 1981/82, 1988/89, 1989/90, 1990/91, 1992/93, 1993/94, 1994/95, 1995/96, 1997/98, 1998/99, 1999/00)
Number of Iraqi Elite Cup titles: 3 (1991/92, 1999/00, 2003/04)
Number of Iraqi Super Cup titles: 3 (1997/98, 1999/00, 2000/01)
Number of major continental titles: 0

Season-by-season record in the Iraqi Premier League:
1975/76: 1st
1976/77: 1st
1977/78: 3rd
1978/79: 1st
1979/80: 2nd
1980/81: 7th
1981/82: 5th
1982/83: 7th
1983/84: 5th
1984/85: Season abandoned
1985/86: 9th
1986/87: 7th
1987/88: 5th
1988/89: 4th
1989/90: 4th
1990/91: 1st
1991/92: 2nd
1992/93: 2nd
1993/94: 1st
1994/95: 1st
1995/96: 1st
1996/97: 2nd
1997/98: 3rd
1998/99: 1st
1999/00: 1st
2000/01: 1st
2001/02: 4th
2002/03: 4th
2003/04: Season abandoned
2004/05: 4th
2005/06: 1st
2006/07: ~8th
2007/08: 2nd
2008/09: ~7th
2009/10: 3rd
2010/11: 1st
2011/12: 8th
2012/13: 4th
2013/14: 6th
2014/15: ~8th
2015/16: 1st

In terms of major trophies won, Al-Zawraa are the most successful team in Iraq by a long way. They have won 13 Iraqi Premier League titles, far more than any other side, and have completely dominated the Iraqi FA Cup over the years winning a staggering 14 of them. They also have the joint-record highest number of Iraqi Elite Cup titles and the most Iraqi Super Cups too. Overall, they have won 33 major domestic trophies, but are still yet to claim a single major honour on the continental stage (the ACC Club Championship that Al-Zawraa won twice is not considered to be a major honour). However, what many people don’t know is that Al-Zawraa would never have achieved all this success had it not been for a club named Al-Naqil. Al-Naqil were the runners-up of the league in the 1974/75 season, but the club dissolved due to a financial crisis. Al-Naqil’s players, many of them going on to become legends of Iraqi football, thus joined fellow Ministry of Transport club Al-Zawraa, who had just been promoted to the top-flight. This meant that right from their first season in the top division, Al-Zawraa were title contenders and they did indeed win the double in their very first top-flight campaign which set the precedent for the decades of glory that were to follow. They have won the league undefeated an astounding four times and also have the record for the longest unbeaten run in Iraqi Premier League history (39 games, from 1993 to 1994).

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *