Name: Al-Shorta (meaning Police in English)
Nickname: Al-Qeetharah (meaning The Harps in English)
City: Baghdad
Year of foundation: 1932
Manager: Mohamed Youssef (Egypt)
Twitter: @alshorta_sc

Number of Iraqi Premier League titles: 5 (1979/80, 1997/98, 2002/03, 2012/13, 2013/14)
Number of national league titles before the foundation of the Iraqi Premier League (i.e. pre-1974): 5 (1962/63, 1967/68, 1968/69, 1969/70, 1971/72)
Number of Iraqi FA Cup titles: 0
Number of Iraqi Elite Cup titles: 3 (2000/01, 2001/02, 2002/03)
Number of Iraqi Super Cup titles: 0
Number of major continental titles: 1 (1980-82 Arab Club Championship)
(also withdrew from 1971 AFC Champions League final against Israeli club in protest at occupation of Palestine; Israel expelled from AFC in 1974)

Season-by-season record in the Iraqi Premier League:
1974/75: 5th
1975/76: 3rd
1976/77: 3rd
1977/78: 6th
1978/79: 2nd
1979/80: 1st
1980/81: 2nd
1981/82: 6th
1982/83: 6th
1983/84: 8th
1984/85: Season abandoned
1985/86: 6th
1986/87: 5th
1987/88: 9th
1988/89: ~11th
1989/90: 3rd
1990/91: 3rd
1991/92: 5th
1992/93: 4th
1993/94: 5th
1994/95: 6th
1995/96: 3rd
1996/97: 5th
1997/98: 1st
1998/99: 5th
1999/00: 3rd
2000/01: 3rd
2001/02: 3rd
2002/03: 1st
2003/04: Season abandoned
2004/05: ~11th
2005/06: ~9th
2006/07: ~11th
2007/08: ~9th
2008/09: ~15th
2009/10: ~6th
2010/11: ~16th
2011/12: 7th
2012/13: 1st
2013/14: 1st
2014/15: 3rd
2015/16: 7th

Al-Shorta, founded in 1932, are the third-oldest existing football club in Iraq. They won five top-flight league titles between 1962 and 1974 before the foundation of the Iraqi Premier League, and they have participated in every single Iraqi Premier League season since it was founded in 1974. Their first Premier League title was in the 1979/80 season, before they went through the next season undefeated in a run that eventually reached 31 games. They won the league again in the 1997/98 season in the most exciting title race in Iraqi football history, before claiming their third Premier League title in the 2002/03 season. They also became the only club to win the Umm Al-Ma’arik Cup (now known as Iraqi Elite Cup) three times in a row when they won it in 2000/01, 2001/02 and 2002/03. After the start of the Iraq War in 2003, Al-Shorta’s form dipped and they were almost relegated in the 2010/11 season, but they recovered and managed to win the league title against all the odds in the 2012/13 season. They successfully retained the Premier League title for the first time in the following campaign under the helm of Brazilian coach Lorival Santos. Al-Shorta are one of the big four clubs in Iraq alongside Al-Talaba, Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya and Al-Zawraa, and they were the first Iraqi club to win a major honour on the continental stage when they won the Arab Club Championship in 1982 with a 4-2 aggregate win over Lebanese side Al-Nejmeh. Also, Al-Shorta are the only existing Iraqi club to have reached the final of the AFC Champions League which they did in 1971, and they would probably have won it had they not withdrawn from the match due to political reasons (they were facing an Israeli club in the final). Not only are they one of the oldest but they are also one of the biggest and most successful Iraqi teams.