Name: Al-Naft (meaning Oil in English)
City: Baghdad
Year of foundation: 1979
Manager: Hassan Ahmed (Iraq)

Number of Iraqi Premier League titles: 0
Number of Iraqi FA Cup titles: 0
Number of Iraqi Elite Cup titles: 0
Number of Iraqi Super Cup titles: 0
Number of major continental titles: 0

Season-by-season record in the Iraqi Premier League:
1985/86: 15th
1986/87: 11th
1987/88: 7th
1988/89: Between 10th-29th
1989/90: 5th
1990/91: 5th
1991/92: 8th
1992/93: 7th
1993/94: 6th
1994/95: 5th
1995/96: 5th
1996/97: 9th
1997/98: 8th
1998/99: 10th
1999/00: 17th
2000/01: 11th
2001/02: 13th
2002/03: 18th
2003/04: Season abandoned
2004/05: ~7th
2005/06: ~13th
2006/07: ~9th
2007/08: ~18th
2008/09: ~8th
2009/10: ~15th
2010/11: ~14th
2011/12: 10th
2012/13: 9th
2013/14: 9th
2014/15: ~16th
2015/16: 5th

Al-Naft were founded in 1979, replacing a club called Al-Omma. They spent six years in the lower divisions before reaching the top-flight in 1985. Impressively, they have never been relegated since their first season in the Iraqi Premier League but they have never finished higher than fifth, a position that they have reached in five different seasons including the 2015/16 season. The closest they have got to winning a major trophy was in 1998 when they reached the final of the Umm Al-Ma’arik Cup (now known as Iraqi Elite Cup), but they lost 3-0 to Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya. Their 2015/16 campaign was an impressive one as they won the “Team of the Season” award ahead of undefeated champions Al-Zawraa, while their manager Hassan Ahmed was a joint-winner of the “Manager of the Season” award and the club had two players make the “Team of the Season”.